Quick Facts: Labrador

APTN National News
During the election, APTN will be profiling 51 ridings the Assembly of First Nations say Aboriginal voters can make a difference.

Riding: Labrador


Incumbent: Yvonne Jones, Liberal

Conservative candidate: Peter Penashue

NDP candidate: Edward Rudkowski

Green candidate: Mary Lou Harley


Quick Facts: 

Prior to being elected MP for Labrador, Yvonne Jones, Metis, served as a Member of the Legislative Assembly in Newfoundland and Labrador from 1996-2013. She was Minister of Fisheries in the provincial politics under former premier Roger Grimes.

Peter Penasue was the first Innu elected to the House of Commons in the 2011 General Election from Labrador and the first Innu cabinet minister in Canadian history.

Penashue served as the minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and president of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada.

In March 2013, Penashue stepped down over ineligible campaign donations accepted in the 2011 campaign.

NDP candidate Edward Rudkowski, Inuk, was born in Labrador City and raised in Wabush and works in the financial industry.

Green candidate Mary Lou taught chemistry at the University of New Brunswick Saint John campus. She has published scientific papers in the fields of chemistry and biology and has particular experience addressing contradictory information in controversial industrial issues.


Contribute Button