Nunavut assembly chooses P.J. Akeeagok as new premier

Members of Nunavut’s legislative assembly have chosen the territory’s next leader in a secret ballot.

P.J. Akeeagok will be the new premier of the territory of about 40,000 people.

Akeeagok, who is 37, is from Nunavut’s most northern community of Grise Fiord and represents an Iqaluit constituency in the legislative assembly.

He served seven years as president of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association before resigning this year to run in the Oct. 25 territorial election.

In keeping with Nunavut’s consensus-style government, Akeeagok is to assign cabinet portfolios later today to members of the legislature who have been picked by their peers to be ministers.

Akeeagok beat out incumbent premier Joe Savikataaq and former health minister Lorne Kusugak for the job.

Contribute Button