Ernest Monias receives Lifetime Achievement Award at IMAs

The 2019 Indigenous Music Awards handed out the hardware on May 17 at a ceremony in Winnipeg hosted by singer-songwriter Beatrice Love and Midnight Shine frontman Adrian Sutherland.

The highest honour of the night was awarded to Ernest Monias, the “Elvis of the North.”

Monias received the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from Elvis Presley’s granddaughter, Riley Keough.

“I thank the Creator for the gift of music that was handed down to me,” the 70-year-old performer told the appreciative crowd.

Monias has been performing for about 50 years and released 18 albums in genres including rock, country, gospel, and even a Christmas album.

He appeared deeply touched by the recognition.

“Most of all, all the First Nations people across our sacred land of Canada and all over the globe,” he said, “I thank you from the bottom of my heart.”

The awards are part of the annual Manito Ahbee Festival, which celebrates Indigenous arts, culture and music.

Here is the list of winners:

-Best Blues Album: Cary Morin, When I Rise

– Best Country Album: Don Amero, Evolution

Best Electronic Music: Dj Krayzkree, Future Generations

– Best Folk Album: Beatrice Deer, My All to You

– Best Gospel Album: Yvonne St. Germaine, Country Christmas

– Best Hand Drum Album: Laura Grizzlypaws, Come Home

Angela Amarualik (Ashley Brandson/APTN)

– Best Inuit, Indigenous Language or Francophone Album: Angela Amarualik, Angela Amarualik

– Best Instrumental Album: Jamie Medicine Crane, Honouring Life

Mimi O’Bonsawin (Ashley Brandson/APTN)

– Best Pop Album: Mimi O’Bonsawin, Connected

– Best Pow Wow Contemporary Album: Young Spirit, Red Dress Special

– Best Pow Wow Traditional Album: Chippewa Travellers, Waseyasige: Shining Brightly

– Best Rap/Hip Hop: Buggin Malone, Humanity Volume 1

– Best Rock Album: Samantha Craine, You Had Me At Goodbye

– Best New Artist: Janel Munoa, Howls from the Deep in the Woods

Logan Staats (Ashley Brandson,/APTN)

– Best Radio Single: Logan Staats, The Lucky Ones

– Best Music Video: Supaman, Miracle

– Best Producer/Engineer: Sandra Sutter, Cluster Stars

– Best International Indigenous Release: Solju, Odda Aigodate (New Times)

– Best Radio Station Program – Promoting Indigenous Music: CBC Radio Unreserved, Unreserved

– Indigenous Film Award: Erica Daniels, Run as One – The Journey of the Front Runners

– 2019 TD Indigneous Songwriter Award: Anachnid

The 2020 Indigenous Music Awards will be held next September in Edmonton, AB.


Contribute Button