Atleo takes first ballot with commanding lead

APTN National News
Shawn Atleo took the first ballot in the vote for national chief of the Assembly of First Nations with 284 votes and needs only 40 votes to win.

Pam Palmater came in second with 95 votes, followed by Diane Kelly with 39 votes, Terry Nelson with 35, Gabriel with 33 and Erasmus with 29 votes.

Joan Jack, who received 20 votes and George Stanley, who garnered only five votes, dropped off the ballot.

Chiefs will now vote in a second ballot. Atleo needs only 40 votes to hit the magic number of 324 he needs to get 60 per cent of the vote.

Online Producer / Ottawa

Before moving to become the APTN News social media producer, Mark was the executive producer for the news in eastern Canada. Before starting with APTN in 2009, Mark worked at CBC Radio and Television in Newfoundland and Labrador and Ottawa.