APTN journalists awarded NAJA’s National Native Media Awards

Congratulations to all the APTN journalists being awarded National Native Media Awards by the Native American Journalists Association.

Here’s a look at the award winning stories.

Video Journalist Charlotte Morritt-Jacobs takes home first place for Best Environmental Coverage for Youth Perspectives on Climate Change and second place in the category of Best Feature Photo.

In the category of Online – Best News Story, Journalist Kenneth Jackson was awarded first place for his story Death as Expected: Inside a child welfare system where 102 Indigenous kids died over 5 years.

APTN’s Charlotte Morritt-Jacobs also received second place in the Online – Best News Story category for her coverage of Nunavut at 20: Pangnirtung and the true cost of isolation.

In the category of Best Multimedia Online, APTN’s Tom Fennario took home third place for his story Two years after his death in jail, a family in Nunavik is still waiting for answers.

APTN’s Priscilla Wolf was awarded first place in the category of TV – Best News Story with her story Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation is in a state of emergency after a rash of suicides.

Reporter Brittany Hobson took home second place in the category of TV – Best News Story for her piece Peace camp set up in Hollow Water First Nation to oppose sand mine project.

In the category of TV – Best Multimedia, Video Journalist Cullen Crozier was awarded first place for APTN Investigates: Broken Circle.

The 2020 NAJA Richard LaCourse Award recognizing ground breaking work has been awarded to APTN Investigates.

Contribute Button