AFN regional chief survives non-confidence vote in Manitoba

The Manitoba regional chief of the Assembly of First Nations will remain in place following a special meeting of Manitoba chiefs Tuesday.

Kevin Hart was the subject of a non-confidence vote at a special chiefs meeting of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) in Brokenhead Ojibway Nation.

The vote was 27 to 13 in Hart’s favour.

The vote came one day before the AMC holds its annual general assembly.

Hart was re-elected to a three-year term in July 2018.

Hart earlier had confirmed the non-confidence vote was taking place but wouldn’t say why.

For roughly one month, AMC has not responded to emails from APTN News about the existence of a vote or why it was taking place.

Hart wasn’t saying much on Tuesday following the vote but posted on Facebook: “I look forward to attending the AMC Assembly tomorrow as AFN Regional Chief Kevin Hart. Lots of work ahead.”

Contribute Button