Who will be elected AFN’s National Chief? InFocus live on location Dec. 10

APTN InFocus:

On Wednesday, December 10th at 6:30pm ET we’re putting the election of National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations InFocus.

We’re broadcasting live from the Convention Centre in downtown Winnipeg on the day Chiefs choose their national leader.

Our guests will join host/producer, Cheryl McKenzie, to share their perspective on the issues influencing the decision of who gets in.

Here are our InFocus guests for the live show: 

  • Arthur Manuel, former Chief of the Neskonlith Indian Band and the son of George Manuel who was a leader in the Constitutional Express that ensured Aboriginal rights and title were recognized in the 1982 Constitution Act;
  • Russell Diabo, Mohawk from Kahnawake, and Publisher and Editor of the First Nations Strategic Bulletin;
  • Cheryl Maloney, President of the Nova Scotia Native Women’s Association and daughter of Reginald Maloney, the long-time Chief of the Mi’Kmaq Shubenacadie Band who took his fight for treaty rights all the way to the Supreme Court and won; and
  • Joan Jack, Anishinaabekwe from Beren’s River First Nation in Manitoba; Lawyer and previous AFN National Chief candidate.

WATCH these clips from the candidates to get a sense of where they’re coming from.

They appear in alphabetical order: Perry Bellegarde, Leon Jourdain and Ghislain Picard.

(Video clips recorded at candidates forum in Winnipeg, Nov.6/14)

Contribute Button